Biography for Allan Avendano

Briefly about me

I come from Ecuador, currently I am living for 2 years on Italy. My mother tongue is Spanish, but I also know English and I am learning Italian (beautiful language!)

About my study

I am on my first year of a Master Course in Computer Engineering at University of Rome "La Sapienza". Following some basic course to CS. My interests are related with web development, high performance and distributed computing.

My interests

My main interests are related with education methodology improvement through IT. I love to program on any language and to learn how different programming paradigms work.

Other interest: travel abroad and photography (despite I am not a professional).

My non-Smalltalk experiences so far

I have been working with Java, JavaScript (lover), PHP, Python, ML, Prolog and of course... Smalltalk. While I was on undergraduate courses, I attend a "Programming Languages" class, on which I learnt those languages. Later on, I had the opportunity to work as teacher assistant of that class for 2 years. 

After graduation, I worked at "Information Technology Center", which is a research center at my country. I had the opportunity to be involved on different projects, where I had to work under a tight and continuous deliveries.  

My Smalltalk experiences so far

I worked with Squeak around by 2 years, because I was teacher assistant of a Programming Languages course while I was undergraduate. I developed some applications as user-developer. 

Why am I interested in Smalltalk?

Because, it provides a wide variety of development areas and it fully-object oriented language has its own development environment.

Will I stay with Smalltalk after the project is finished?

That's my intention, continue working on Smalltalk.

Updated: 2.4.2012